Mobile development with Zend Framework and WURFL

Great video that was posted today on the Zend Developer Zone, check it out:

Build Mobile Apps with Zend Framework and Zend Studio

Mobile applications are booming. Hundreds of thousands of mobile applications are available. Downloads are in the billions. Watch this video to see how you can use Zend Framework and Eclipse-based tools available for Zend Studio to develop a PHP-based mobile application.”

About mcloide

Making things simpler, just check: http://www.mcloide.com View all posts by mcloide

6 responses to “Mobile development with Zend Framework and WURFL

  • Johnny Gills

    Nice Find…

  • Alex

    Nice video, I’d like to try that out but I’ll get a lot of different errors trying to configure WURFL like described into the Zend-Doku as you pointed it out in your video. Could you give a hint on typical errors someone could do? For myself, I figured out, that the cache-directory-setting in the wurfl-config.php will be ignored and the cache-directory set up into the library/wurfl-php-1.3.1/WURFL/Storage/File.php (/var/temp) will be used instead. So I manually changed the path to the directory I wanted to. But then, it seems, that a request with a “normal” device like a laptop or a desktop shows up some right configuration, but using iPhone, iPad or an Android device doesn’t do anything. Any help would be great!

    • mcloide

      WURFL is not simple to configure with Zend, but most of the issues are reading issues from where the db is located. Sometimes is better just to go solo-style and create your own config.

      • Alex

        Well, thats exactly what I found out. But in the docu it seems so easy and so in some other tutorials I found. So you recommend putting the data from WURFL manually into a database and write my own Zend-Classes for it?
        If I do so, I’ll probably come to an updating problem, don’t I?

      • mcloide

        What I have done I have kept the data as is, but I have also kept it under a svn repository so if anything went wrong I could simply revert. I have still used the WURFL files with Zend, but I had to adapt the classes to work with the Zend Framework MVC. If you can always load the WURFL class as a instantiated object on your app you wont have an issue what-so-ever. Just keep in mind that every time you have to update the WURFL db, it will need to be cleaned to avoid duplicates or errors during the import. I’m not sure how outdated is the WURFL object compared to the current Zend Framework, but you might need to adapt it or simply create a new object. In the end, what matters is truly the XML file that WURFL generates, how you use it to load the device information can be fully up to your app.

Leave a Reply

