My 1st impressions of a MAC

I have been always working with Windows and recently I have changed to Linux so it would be possible to boost my Desktop performance without much investment.

Working with Xubuntu for the past months has been wonderful, but now a major performance was need for necessary work. Talking with colleagues and friends, I have choosen a MacBook Pro, a extremly light weight notebook with a lot of power for the size.

Going to the Apple Store was fun. I had come to a store employee and told him that I needed a MacBook Pro that could hold a couple of Virtual Machines running at time and one of them was Linux. He got spooked, but actually helped a ton on choosing the correct one.

Easy setup, beautiful opening and yes, it is impressive. The first steps where easy, installing Skype, MSN Messenger Live, configuring email, installing the Eclipse PDT, VPN and installing VirtualBox, my main reason for using a Mac. I got pretty part of the setup of my environment done until I got stuck into some small problems.

Getting Apache working, configuring the httpd.conf and setting up some other development stuff. It took time, but most is done, now is just fine tunning.

There are some tricks that are usefull on a Mac and those I have learned today. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a confessed newbie on Mac’s, even knowing that I have already used Linux for a long time (believe me, it’s very similar, including commands, but is not the same).

The best trick: Use sudo nano to edit files that you wouldn’t normally do with a text editor because you don’t have permissions or the system don’t have permissions to it.

A very useful trick: Hit command + space to open the Spotlight. A mix of finder with run that allows you to execute command that is being searched and open documents.

There is much to learn with a Mac. Feels like that I’m on a Linux that was transformed into a “good guy” that can play cool games. Well, maybe we can change it back to a “bad boy” (Linux) and still play cool games đŸ˜‰

So far, working with it has been wonderful, let’s see how it goes when I push it to the limit…

About mcloide

Making things simpler, just check: http://www.mcloide.com View all posts by mcloide

2 responses to “My 1st impressions of a MAC

  • windows live api | WINDOWS

    […] My 1st impressions of a MAC « PHP Libraries, API's and Frameworks […]

  • Sharleen Droneburg

    I have observed, in my own experience, that relying on contract testers can be tough and to a greater extent time consuming IF you require them to run on large-scale integration campaigns. Whereas developers tend to come in and work only on a smaller slice of the cause, testers usually are required to test across functions, systems or business organization fields. If you can get in testers to work on smaller parts of the project, thereby allowing for your more experienced in-house testers to focus on the cross-domain effort, this could work.

Leave a Reply

